AU SUJET DU FGI 2017

La 12ᵉ réunion annuelle du Forum sur la gouvernance de l’Internet (FGI) aura lieu du 18 au 21 décembre 2017 à l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève, (Palais des Nations, Avenue de la Paix 14, CH-1211 Genève 10, Suisse. Voir l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève).

Le FGI est un forum multilatéral favorisant le dialogue sur des thèmes en lien avec les politiques publiques relatives à l’internet. Il a été convoqué par le secrétaire général des Nations Unies en 2006.

Avec le renouvellement de son mandat par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en décembre 2015, le FGI a consolidé sa position en tant que plateforme réunissant sur un pied d’égalité les membres des milieux intéressés. Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de résultat négocié, le FGI informe et inspire les décideurs des secteurs public et privé. Lors de leur réunion annuelle, les délégués débattent, échangent des informations et partagent des bonnes pratiques.

Le FGI favorise une compréhension commune de la manière d’optimiser les opportunités qu’offre l’internet, tout en abordant les risques et les défis qui se présentent. Il donne aux pays en voie de développement la même chance qu’aux pays industrialisés de prendre part au débat sur la gouvernance de l’internet et facilite leur implication dans les institutions et les dispositifs existants. Enfin, l’engagement de toutes les parties prenantes, aussi bien les pays industrialisés que les pays en développement, est nécessaire pour le développement futur de l’internet.

Après avoir consulté la communauté élargie de l’internet et discuté du thème général du FGI 2017, le Groupe consultatif multipartite a décidé de retenir le titre „Shape your digital future!“.

Des informations récentes sur le processus préparatoire du FGI 2017 se trouvent sur le site internet du secrétariat du FGI: Internet Governance Forum

SHAPE YOUR DIGITAL FUTURE !

FGI 2017

LIEU

Palais des Nations

Un guide pratique de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève peut être téléchargé ici:

Practical Guide to UNOG (PDF, 5.2mb)

Services dans le Palais des Nations

Banques

Le Palais des Nations compte deux banques UBS: (1) porte 6, bâtiment C: ouverte du lundi au vendredi, de 8h30 à 16h30; (2) porte 41, bâtiment E, ouverte de 8h30 à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 16h30.

Poste

Le bureau de poste est situé à la porte 6, bâtiment C. Seuls les timbres UN sont acceptés. Heures d’ouverture: 8h30 à 17h.

Cafés et restaurants

Le restaurant situé au 8ᵉ étage du bâtiment de l’Assemblée sert des repas chauds de 12h à 14h30, du lundi au vendredi.

La cafétéria, au rez-de-chaussée du bâtiment de l’Assemblée, est ouverte du lundi au vendredi de 8h15 à 16h45. Le repas de midi est servi de 11h30 à 14h.

Le bar de la presse, au rez-de-chaussée du bâtiment du Conseil, est ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 18h30.

ewdwfq

ewdwfq

fdwefw

Le bar „Le serpent“, dans l’aire de la salle de conférence du bâtiment E, est ouvert de 9h à 17h15.

Le salon des délégués, au 3ᵉ étage du bâtiment de l’Assemblée (salle VI), est ouvert de 8h30 à 17h .

Le bar de la Palette, au 6ᵉ étage du bâtiment E, est ouvert de 8h15 à 17h.

Transports locaux

Transports publics gratuits à Genève durant votre séjour

Les participants qui logent dans un hôtel, une auberge de jeunesse ou un camping du canton de Genève bénéficient d’une “Geneva Transport Card” gratuite. Avec cette carte, vous pouvez utiliser gratuitement les transports publics à Genève durant tout votre séjour. Personnelle et intransmissible, elle vous est fournie à votre arrivée par l’établissement où vous résidez. Elle vous permet d’utiliser sans limites le réseau genevois des transports publics (UNIRESO: bus et trams TPG, train CFF et bateau “Mouettes genevoises”) pour toute la durée de votre séjour.

Plus d’informations: Genève Tourisme

Bus et tramway

Le Palais des Nations est desservi par plusieurs lignes de tram et de bus.

L’arrêt Appia est le plus proche du Portail de Pregny; il est desservi par les bus 8, 28, F, V et Z.

L’arrêt Place des Nations est situé à 500 mètres du Portail de Pregny; il est desservi par le tram 15 et par les bus 5, 8, 11, 14, 28, V, F, et Z.

De l’aéroport de Genève Cointrin: En bus, compter 10-15 minutes. Prendre le bus 28 en direction du Jardin botanique et descendre à Appia (circule toutes les 20-30 minutes durant la journée); ou prendre le bus 5 direction Hôpital et descendre à Nations.

De la gare de Genève Cornavin: En bus ou en tramway, compter 10-15 minutes. Prendre le tram 15 direction Nations et descendre à Nations; ou prendre le bus 5 direction Aéroport et descendre à Nations, ou le bus 8 direction OMS et descendre à Appia.

Les billets des transports publics peuvent être achetés à toutes les stations de tram et de bus de Genève.

Le site des Transports publics genevois fournit des renseignements complémentaires sur les itinéraires, les horaires, les tarifs, etc.

Taxis

Les taxis ne peuvent pas pénétrer dans l’enceinte du Palais des Nations; les passagers doivent marcher depuis le Portail de Pregny.

Une station de taxis se trouve sur la Route de Pregny, à 25 mètres environ du Portail de Pregny, direction Place des Nations. En général, les taxis sont disponibles 24h sur 24.

INSCRIPTION ET BADGE

Les participants doivent s’inscrire en ligne.
Les détails relatifs au processus d’inscription, le lien vers le site d’inscription en ligne et les délais seront communiqués en temps voulu.

RENSEIGNEMENTS UTILES

Genève

  • Surface du canton: 282 km²
  • Altitude: 373 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer
  • Fuseau horaire: Genève se trouve dans la zone horaire d’Europe centrale (G.M.T +1).

Climat

La température moyenne s’élève à 3°C en hiver et à 23°C en été. En décembre, le climat à Genève est froid, généralement nuageux, avec des températures diurnes moyennes de 2°C (elles peuvent osciller entre -1°C et 10°C).

Appareils électriques

En Suisse, l’alimentation électrique est de 230 V/50 Hz. Les fiches de type J et de type C peuvent être utilisées (voir Type J et Type C)

INFORMATIONS SUR LES VISAS

Selon leur nationalité, les participants au FGI peuvent avoir besoin d’un visa d’entrée sur le territoire suisse. La liste des nationalités assujetties à l’obtention d’un visa est disponible ici: 

Prescriptions en matière de documents de voyage et de visas selon la nationalité

L’ambassade ou le consulat suisse le plus proche compétent pour le pays de résidence du participant peut être trouvé ici:

Demande de visa en ligne de la Suisse

Les participants doivent prendre rendez-vous suffisamment tôt (au moins un mois avant le départ) avec la représentation compétente, et se présenter en personne pour un entretien et l’enregistrement de leurs données biométriques.

L’examen de la demande de visa ne débute qu’une fois celle-ci enregistrée sur la base d’un dossier complet incluant la confirmation de l’inscription au forum (la confirmation est traitée comme s’il s’agissait d’un lettre d’invitation aux fins de la demande de visa). Un dossier incomplet peut entraîner un refus ou un retard dans la délivrance du visa. En général, la procédure prend au moins 15 jours à partir du moment où la demande est considérée comme recevable.   

Pour de plus amples informations sur les visas, veuillez consulter le site internet du Secrétariat d’Etat aux migrations: 

Secrétariat d’Etat aux migrations (SEM)

ARRIVER A GENEVE

Par avion

Chiffres clés de l’Aéroport international de Genève:

  • plus de 40 compagnies européennes et internationales
  • vols directs pour 130 destinations
  • un “secteur français” pour les arrivées depuis la France et les départs vers la France sans entrée en Suisse
  • une gare ferroviaire avec des correspondances vers le centre de Genève, la Suisse et l’Europe
  • plus de 80 magasins et de nombreux restaurants
  • stationnement de longue durée
  • deux boutiques hors taxes (à l’arrivée et au départ)

Billet gratuit de l’Aéroport international de Genève à votre hôtel

Les voyageurs arrivant à l’Aéroport international de Genève ont droit à un billet gratuit pour les Transports publics genevois (zone 10). Le distributeur de billets gratuits se trouve dans la zone de récupération des bagages. Le billet s’imprime en appuyant simplement sur le bouton. Il vous permet de prendre un train de l’aéroport (jusqu’au centre), un bus, ou un tramway. Il est valable 80 minutes.

Aéroport de Genève
Informations: +41 22 717 71 05
Informations de vol: 0900 57 15 00

En train

Avec les trois gares de Genève au cœur du réseau ferroviaire européen, vous êtes sur la bonne voie! Le réseau ferroviaire suisse dessert les quatre coins du pays, et les trains français à grande vitesse (TGV) relient Paris à la gare principale de Genève en trois heures seulement!

Chemins de fer fédéraux

Liaisons TGV de et vers Paris: TGV Lyria 

Utilisation des transports publics dans toute la Suisse et autres offres: Le Swiss Travel Pass vous permet d’utiliser tous les transports publics en Suisse de manière illimitée pour une durée de 3, 4, 8 ou 15 jours consécutifs. Il vous donne également un accès gratuit à plus de 480 musées et expositions. Swiss Travel Pass

Plus d’informations: Genève Tourisme

HEBERGEMENT

Les participants sont priés d’effectuer leurs propres réservations d’hôtel. Il est possible de réserver un hôtel à Genève sur le site Genève Tourisme ou sur tout autre site de réservation d’hôtels.

Les participants sont priés de réserver un hôtel bien avant la réunion, car les hôtels affichent souvent complet en raison du grand nombre de conférences ou autres manifestations qui se déroulent à Genève. 

Le Centre d’Accueil – Genève Internationale offre un soutien pour la réservation d’un hébergement, de même qu’une aide financière pour réduire les coûts (suivant le profil des participants, les chambres peuvent coûter entre 35 et 110 CHF la nuit). Pour bénéficier de cette aide, les participants doivent remplir un certain nombre de conditions. Les formulaires de demande à remplir sont disponibles ici

CONTACT

10 + 9 =

ABOUT IGF 2017

The 12th annual meeting of the Internet Governance Forum will take place between 18 and 21 December 2017 at the United Nations Office at Geneva (Palais des Nations, Avenue de la Paix 14, CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland. See The United Nations Office at Geneva.)

The IGF is a multistakeholder forum that promotes discussions and dialogue about public policy issues relating to the Internet. It was convened in 2006 by the United Nations Secretary-General.

With the renewal of its mandate by the United Nations General Assembly in December 2015, the IGF has consolidated its position as a platform for bringing together members of various stakeholder groups as equals. While there is no negotiated outcome, the IGF informs and inspires those with policy-making powers in both the public and private sectors. Delegates hold discussions, exchange information and share good practices with each other at the annual meeting.

The IGF facilitates a common understanding as to how Internet opportunities can be maximized and addresses risks and challenges that arise. It is also a forum which gives developing countries the same opportunity as wealthier nations to engage in the debate on Internet governance and facilitates their participation in existing institutions and arrangements. Ultimately, the involvement of all stakeholders, from developed as well as developing countries, is necessary for the future development of the Internet.

After consulting the wider Internet community and discussing the overarching theme of the 2017 IGF meeting, the IGF Multistakeholder Advisory Group decided to retain the title “Shape your digital future!”.

The latest information on the preparatory process for IGF 2017 is available on the IGF Secretariat’s website: Internet Governance Forum

SHAPE YOUR DIGITAL FUTURE !

IGF 2017

VENUE

Palais des Nations

A practical site map and guide to the United Nations Office at Geneva can be download here:

Practical Guide to UNOG (PDF, 5.2mb)

Facilities inside the Palais des Nations

Banking

Two UBS banks are located in the Palais des Nations: (1) at Door 6, Building C: open from Monday to Friday 08:30 to 16:30; (2) Door 41, Building E, open from 08:30 to 12:30 and from 13:30 to 16:30.

Post office

The post office is located at Door 6, Building C. Only UN stamps are accepted. Opening hours: 08:30 to 17:00.

Cafés and restaurants

The restaurant on the 8th floor of the Assembly Building serves hot meals from 12:00 to 14:30, Monday to Friday.

The cafeteria, on the ground floor of the Assembly Building, is open Monday to Friday from 08:15 to 16:45. Lunch is served from 11:30 to 14:00.

The Press Bar on the ground floor of the Council Building is open Monday to Friday from 08:00 to 18:30.

dwwwdwd

edwdwdewdwed

dededw

The “Bar Serpent” in the Conference room area of the E-Building is open from 09:00 to 17:15.

The Delegate’s Lounge on the 3rd floor of the Assembly Building (Room VI) is open from 08:30 to 16:30.

The Bar de la Palette on the 6rd floor of the E-Building is open from 08:15 to 17:00.

Local Transport

Convenient and free public transport card during your stay in Geneva

Participants staying in a hotel, a youth hostel or a campsite in the Canton of Geneva are eligible for a “Geneva Transport Card” free of charge. With this card, public transport in Geneva is free for the full duration of your stay. This personal and non-transferable card will be given to you when you arrive at your accommodation. It permits unlimited travel on Geneva’s public transport network (UNIRESO: bus (TPG), train (CFF) and boat (Mouettes Genevoises)) for the full duration of your stay.

For additional information: Geneva Tourism

Bus and tram

The Palais des Nations is served by several tram and bus lines.

The Appia stop is nearest to the Pregny Gate and is served by buses 8, 28, F, V and Z.

The Place des Nations stop is located 500 m from the Pregny Gate and is served by tram number 15 and buses 5, 8, 11, 14, 28, V, F, and Z.

From Geneva Cointrin airport: by bus in 10-15 minutes. Take bus 28 towards Jardin Botanique and stop at Appia (runs every 20-30 minutes during the day); or take bus 5 towards Hôpital, and stop at Nations.

From Geneva Cornavin train station: by bus or tram in 10-15 minutes. Take tram 15 towards Nations and stop at Nations; or take either bus 5 towards Aéroport, and stop at Nations, or bus 8 towards OMS, and stop at Appia.

If required, public transport tickets can be purchased at all tram and bus stations in Geneva.

Further information such as itineraries, timetables, fares, etc. is available on the site of Transports Publics Genevois at: Transports Publics Genevois

Taxis

Taxis cannot enter the UN compound – participants must walk from the Pregny Gate.

A taxi stand is located on Route de Pregny, some 25 m from the Pregny Gate, direction Place des Nations. Taxis are usually available round the clock.

REGISTRATION AND BADGING

All stakeholders must register online.
More details regarding the registration process, a link to the online registration site, and deadlines will be communicated in due course.

USEFUL INFORMATION

Geneva

  • Area of the canton: 282 km²
  • Altitude: 373m above sea level
  • Time zone: Geneva is in the Central European zone (GMT+1).

Climate

The average temperature in Geneva in winter is 3°C and in summer 23°C. The climate in Geneva in December is cold and mostly cloudy, with daytime temperatures averaging 2°C (daytime temperatures may vary between -1°C and 10°C).

Electrical appliances

Mains electricity in Switzerland is 230 V/50 Hz. Type J and Type C plugs can be used (see Type J and Type C)

VISA INFORMATION

 Based on their nationality, participants attending the IGF may require a visa to enter the Swiss territory. The list of nationalities subject to visas can be found by consulting the following link Overview of ID and visa provisions according to nationality.

The nearest Swiss Embassy or Consulate responsible for the participant’s place of residence can be found by consulting the following link: Swiss Online Visa application

Applicants need to schedule an appointment well in advance (at least 1 month before departure) with the competent representation and to present themselves in person for an interview and for the registration of their biometric data.

The visa examination process is only initiated once the application is registered based on a complete file which should include the confirmation of registration for the Forum (the confirmation of registration will be treated as if it were an invitation letter for the purposes of the visa application). An incomplete file may lead to a refusal or to delays in the issuance of the visa. In general, the visa procedure takes at least 15 days once the request is considered as admissible.

For further general information about visas please consult the Swiss State Secretariat for Migration’s website:

The State Secretariat for Migration (SEM)

 

GETTING TO GENEVA

By Air

Geneva International Airport’s key figures:

  • more than 40 European and international airlines
  • some 130 direct flight destinations
  • a ‘French sector’ for arrivals from and departures to France without entering Switzerland
  • a railway station with connections to the centre of Geneva, Switzerland and Europe
  • more than 80 shops and a wide selection of restaurants
  • long-stay parking
  • two duty-free shops (arrival and departure)

Free Ticket from Geneva International Airport to your hotel
Arrivals to Geneva International Airport are eligible for a free ticket on Geneva Public Transport (Zone 10). The machine for free tickets is located in the luggage reclaim hall and a free ticket is printed simply by pressing the button. The free ticket entitles you to take an airport train (train from the airport to the centre), bus, or tram. The ticket is valid for 80 minutes.

Geneva Airport
Information: +41 22 717 71 05
Flight information: 0900 57 15 00

By Train

 You are well on track with Geneva’s three railway stations at the heart of Europe’s rail network. The Swiss rail network extends to every corner of Switzerland and France’s high-speed TGV trains travel from Paris to Geneva’s main station in just three hours!
Swiss Railways: Swiss Railways

TGV connection from and to Paris: TGV Lyria

Use of public transport throughout Switzerland and other offers: The Swiss Travel Pass gives you unlimited use of all public transport in Switzerland for 3, 4, 8 or 15 consecutive days plus entry to over 480 museums and exhibitions. Swiss Travel Pass

For additional information: Geneva Tourism

 

ACCOMMODATION

Participants are requested to make their own hotel reservations. Hotels in Geneva can be found and booked at Geneva Tourism or on any other hotel-booking website.

Participants are advised to book hotel accommodation well in advance of the meeting. Hotels in Geneva may be fully booked, given the large number of conferences or other events. 

The Geneva Welcome Center provides support in booking accommodation, as well as financial aid to reduce the costs (depending on the profile of the participants, rooms can be 35-110 CHF per night). The participants need to fulfil a number of requirements to be able to get financial aid. The forms to file a request can be found here.

 

CONTACT

15 + 9 =